Originally Posted By WilliamK99 A couple of caveats to the safety question. If a QB is in his own endzone and an offensive player commits a holding or intential grounding penalty then it will be a safety. Also in response to oredisneyfan, if a player is tackled in his own endzone as he attempts to return the ball it is still a touchback although if he fumbles the ball when getting tackled all bets are off so in a majority of situations a returner will down the ball with the kicking team approaching.
Originally Posted By Mr X ***yes anyone tackled in there own endzone is a safety, unless it is the kick or punt returner. they can take a knee in the endzone and then the ball is advanced to the 20 yard line. but that is them downing the ball.*** Okay, thanks! I get "downing the ball". ***wonder if they were tackled in the endzone before they kneeled down if it would be a safety?? never thought of that hmmm and I thought I knew my football?*** Good question! ***ok, is this thread even in english anymore? lol*** Apparently not, starting with post 42. j/k William, can you simplify that whole thing into "for dummies" for us? It'd be much appreciated if you could! For example, go MUCH simpler and explain the following... holding intentional (sp?) grounding touchback Remember...we're all dummies here.
Originally Posted By WilliamK99 OK in American football, the offensive linemen(the 5 men who line up in front of quarterback to prevent him from getting tackled) are allowed to block the defenders from reaching the quarterback. They are able to use their hands and body but cannot use hands to the face of their opponent, or if beaten they cannot hold the defender from getting to the QB. If they hold, it is an automatic 10 yard penalty. Now if the QB is in the endzone and a holding penalty occurs, that is considered a safety. This is to prevent teams from holding in order to prevent the safety. Intential grounding is the QB just throwing the ball with no hopes of anyone catching it, but just to prevent from getting a sack. Now this is where it gets complicated. Let's see if my below illustration works X X X X X X The bottom X is the QB, if he goes to the left or right, past the 2 offensive linemen on either side of the illustration then he can throw the ball away without penalty, if he is within that above illustraion and nobody from his team is near the ball to catch it, then it is an intential grounding and a penalty is called with the ball being placed where the QB threw it at. It's a pretty costly penalty. I hope that cleared it up a bit...
Originally Posted By Labuda ore is almost right, but not quite about the hockey thing. Icing is when someone hits the puck and it clears two red lines (i.e., goes from end to end of the ice) without being touched by anyone. Once that happens, the puck is out of play and there's a faceoff. Oh, but if this happens during a power play and is done by the short-handed team, the icing is basically waved off, and doesn't count. Oh, and that's when fans of the short-handed team get ALL kinds of happy during a power play, too. hehe
Originally Posted By oredisneyfan thanks Labuda for the info on icing......WilliamK99 one more question on the intentional grounding rule, I get the wholel cant throw the ball away unless you are outside the tackles and the ball being marked back where the qb is sacked but it is also loss of down. Dont you always lose the down on a sack? or is it loss of the next down? never really got that : )
Originally Posted By Labuda You only lose the down you're on if the QB is sacked. QB sack on first down for a loss of 10 would mean the next play is 2nd and 20, for example.
Originally Posted By oredisneyfan but how about the loss of down on intentional grounding? I just saw this play in the tenn, seattle game and they said 10 yard penalty and loss of down. Is that saying that normally when you have a penalty you replay the down with the negative yards or you take the play and lose the down, but with intentional grounding the play stands and you get the penalty?
Originally Posted By WilliamK99 Yup it is a loss of down, they treat it like a sack because 9/10 times a QB intentional grounds to avoid a sack...